Sadio Mane Wins African best award, See Other Winners

Sadio Mane has been named the Confederation of African Football's (CAF) Player of the Year, 2019. Senegal forward beat Liverpool team-mate and Egypt forward Mohamed Salah and Manchester City's Algerian winger Riyad Mahrez to the award.

Mane helped Liverpool to the 2018-19 Champions League title, scoring 30 goals in all competitions last season.

He has scored 15 goals so far in 2019-20, with Liverpool 13 points clear at the top of the Premier League table.

"I'm really happy and proud to win this. Football is my job, I love it," said Mane.
"I would like to thank my family, my national team, staff, the federation and Liverpool Football Club.
It's a big day for me."

Saido Mane collected the award at a ceremony in Hurghada, Egypt but neither Salah, who had won the award in the past two years nor Mahrez was present.

Before this edition, he finished in the award's top three for the last three years and has long targeted the prize in order to emulate the achievement of one of his heroes, former Liverpool striker El Hadji Diouf, who won it in 2002.

AFCON Best Eleven 2019

Premier League is well represented in African best Eleven 2019. Mo Salah, Mane and Mahrez all made the African best XI team, alongside three other Premier League-based players - Liverpool centre-half Joel Matip, Tottenham right-back Serge Aurier and Arsenal striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

African best XI: 

1. Andre Onana (Ajax/Cameroon),

2. Achraf Hakimi (Borussia Dortmund/Morocco), 

3. Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli/Senegal),

4. Joel Matip (Liverpool/Cameroon),

5. Serge Aurier (Tottenham/Ivory Coast),

6. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City/Algeria),

7. Idrissa Gana Gueye (Paris St-Germain/Senegal),

8.  Hakim Ziyech (Ajax/Morocco),

9. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/Egypt),

10. Sadio Mane (Liverpool/Senegal),

11. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal/Gabon)

 Other Winners 

Meanwhile, Nigeria and Barcelona forward Asisat Oshoala was named the African Women's Player of the Year ahead of Valerenga and Cameroon forward Ajara Nchout and Beijing BG Phoenix and South Africa forward Thembi Kgatlana.

Cameroon, who lost 3-0 to England in the last 16 of the 2019 Women's World Cup, picked up the prize for African Women's National Team of the Year, while Africa Cup of Nations' winner Algeria took the men's honour.

Morocco right-back Achraf Hakimi beats Nigerians Victor Osimhen and Samuel Chukwueze to win the Young Player of the Year award.

While Riyad Mahrez won the African goal of the year for a free-kick he scored for Algeria against Nigeria in his country's Afcon semi-final victory.

Post a Comment

Please don't forget to leave us a comment. You can shoot us a mail via Thanks!

Previous Post Next Post