Premier league's clubs vote to change transfer closing date

All 20 Premier League clubs have voted to move the closing date of the summer transfer window on Thursday’s shareholders’ meeting. The clubs voted for a change to the traditional date at the end of August/early September after two seasons where the window closed on the eve of the new season.

The outcome means this summer’s window will close at 1700 BST on Tuesday, September 1, with August 31 being a Bank Holiday.

A statement from the meeting reads: “At a Shareholders’ Meeting today, Premier League clubs voted to adopt a change to the Summer Transfer Window closing date for season 2020/21.

“This will move the closing date back to the traditional point at the end of August/early September.

"The 2020 closing date will, therefore, be 17:00 BST on 1 September (31 August 2020 is a UK Bank Holiday).

“Clubs agreed after discussing the topic at length at previous Shareholders’ Meetings.”

Post a Comment

Please don't forget to leave us a comment. You can shoot us a mail via Thanks!

Previous Post Next Post